Skip to main content Skip to main navigation

UH Mānoa Strategic Plan 2015–2021

Anticipating the impending sunset of the 2011-15 Strategic Plan, Achieving Our Destiny, Interim Chancellor Bley-Vroman assigned responsibility for preparing the new Mānoa strategic plan to the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs in accord with his view that academics are the center of the campus and his office is more properly concerned with managing external relations. The current Strategic Planning Committee is co-chaired by the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and a former chair of the Mānoa Faculty Senate. Each of the three shared governance organizations, MFS, GSO, and ASUH, as well as Kualiʻi Council have assigned representatives as well. An important development since Achieving Our Destiny was created is the formal adoption of the University of Hawaiʻi System’s Strategic Directions, 2015-2021 which will shape the actions taken by the UH System for the foreseeable future. During the 2014-2015 academic year, the Strategic Planning Committee worked collaboratively with the campus executive team and the faculty senate leadership to develop a high-level matrix linking two priority Mānoa initiatives to each of the four Strategic Directions. The timeline for the plan is 2015-2021, which is aligned with the Strategic Directions as well as the date of the next comprehensive visit from WASC for re-accreditation. Many of the issues central to the plan are issues that will also be central to the next accreditation visit.

The matrix was approved by all of the shared governance structures at UH Mānoa and was endorsed by Chancellor Bley-Vroman. It is the basis upon which the comprehensive strategic plan will be structured. During the 2015-2016 academic year, each of the initiative task forces will organize— composed of members from all shared governance groups— define the goals for each initiative, identify metrics by which progress will be measured and judged, and develop a clear action plan for achieving each goal. As these plans are developed, they will be considered and approved by the Strategic Planning Committee, and when the set of plans for all eight initiatives is finalized, the strategic plan will be complete. This final plan will be more like a loose-leaf binder than a bound book: as time progresses, the action plan for each initiative will evolve, as will the overall plan. This ongoing planning process will be dynamic and responsive to the changing needs of UH Mānoa, and the broader community.

Strategic Planning Committee members were appointed by the Chancellor based on recommendations by the Mānoa Faculty Senate, ASUH, GSO, UHAA, and Mānoa deans and directors. Current members are:

  • Peter Arnade, Dean, Arts and Humanities
  • Maenette Benham, Dean, Hawaiʻinuiikea School of Hawaiian Knowledge
  • Marguerite A. Butler, Associate Professor, Department of Biology
  • Kathy Cutshaw, Vice Chancellor for Administration, Finance, and Operations
  • Reed Dasenbrock, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Co-chair
  • David Ericson, Professor, College of Education, Co-Chair, MFS
  • April Goodwin, Program Officer, OVCAA
  • Lori Ideta, Vice Chancellor for Students
  • Nalani Minton, Kualiʻi Council
  • Richard Mizusawa, graduate student, GSO
  • Noreen Mokuau, Dean, Myron B.Thompson School of Social Work
  • Scott Nishihara, ASUH
  • Cecily Ornelles, Associate Professor, College of Education
  • Duane Stevens, Professor, SOEST
  • Brian Taylor, Vice Chancellor for Research and Graduate Education
  • Laiana Wong, Associate Professor, HSHK
  • Thursday, Nov. 13, 2014, 9:00–10:30 a.m., Hawaiʻi Hall 309
  • Thursday, Dec. 11, 2014, 9:00–10:30 a.m., Hawaiʻi Hall 309
  • Thursday, Mar. 12, 2015, 9:00–10:30 a.m., Hawaiʻi Hall 309
  • Thursday, Apr. 16, 2015, 9:00–10:30 a.m., Hawaiʻi Hall 309
  • Thursday, May 14, 2015, 9:00–10:30 a.m., Hawaiʻi Hall 309
  • Thursday, June 11, 9:00–10:30 a.m., Hawaiʻi Hall 309
  • Thursday, July 9, 2015, 9:00–10:30 a.m., Hawaiʻi Hall 309