UH 2004 Regents and Presidential Scholars to be Recognized

Twenty incoming freshmen and 10 college juniors will receive prestigious scholarships

University of Hawaiʻi
Jim Manke, (808) 956-6099
Office of the Chancellor
Arlene Abiang, (808) 956-5637
External Affairs & University Relations
Posted: Jul 14, 2004

HONOLULU — The University of Hawaiʻi will recognize its 2004 Regents and Presidential Scholars at its annual awards dinner on Thursday, July 15 on the UH Mānoa campus. The UH Board of Regents established the Regents and Presidential Scholarships to support students with a record of outstanding academic achievement.

Regents Scholarships are awarded to 20 outstanding incoming freshmen who receive at least a 1,300 combined mathematics and verbal score on the Scholastic Assessment Test (SAT), maintain at least a 3.5 GPA in academic subjects in high school, and whose extracurricular achievements are shown to be remarkable.

Presidential Scholarships are awarded to 10 college juniors who have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.7 for all college level work, a record of sustained progress in academic courses, and evidence of superior academic achievement or creative endeavor.

Regents Scholars receive a full tuition waiver for four years of undergraduate study, and Presidential Scholars receive a full tuition waiver for two years of undergraduate study. In addition, all scholars receive $4,000 a year and a one-time travel grant of $2,000. The program is administered by the Student Equity, Excellence and Diversity Office at UH Mānoa.

Tanya Badayos, Baldwin High School
Carlo Barbasa, Radford High School
Aaron Fujimoto, Kauaʻi High School
Kelli Ann Harada, Mililani High School
Jillian Haraguchi, Mid-Pacific Institute
Jaime Hongo, Kalani High School
Kara Kusunoki, Maui High School
Sheela Jane Menon, Sacred Hearts Academy
Takashi Miura, Roosevelt High School
Jacob Miyasato, Punahou School
Hunter Morrison, Kauaʻi High School
Dallas Nagata, King Kekaulike High School
Jaclyn Palola, Hanalani High School
Carol Pham, Iolani School
Thomas Tai Takemoto-Chock, Waiakea High School
Tyler Tamashiro, Mililani High School
Iris Teruya, Kaiser High School
Wade Tonaki, Mililani High School
Michelle Tsang Mui Chung, Waiakea High School
Ariel Zane, Mililani High School

Kanoa Chung, UH Mānoa
Kathy Gollaher, UH Hilo
Benjamin Gouldthorpe, UH Mānoa
Marcus Iwane, UH Mānoa
Alice Kim, UH Mānoa
Lisa Miller, UH Mānoa
Michelle Sasaki, UH Mānoa
Eli Tsukayama, UH Mānoa
Tasha Valenzuela, UH Mānoa
Andrea Wong, UH Mānoa

Note to media: Brief biographies are available for each student.