UH Manoa Student Employment & Cooperative Education Recognizes Outstanding Student Employees

University of Hawaiʻi
Myrtle Ching-Rappa, (808)956-4399
Student Employment & Cooperative Education
Christy Wheeler, (808)956-7253
Student Employment & Cooperative Education
Posted: May 4, 2004

UH Mānoa student employees were recognized recently at the annual Student Employee of the Year (SEOTY) celebration. As proclaimed by Governor Linda Lingle, April 28, 2004 was University of Hawaiʻi Student Employee Day.

Aldrich Ricalde, a student program assistant with the Colleges of Arts & Sciences‘ Student Academic Services office, was recognized as the UH Mānoa Student Employee of the Year. Ricalde was awarded a $750 cash scholarship. Lareina Gandeza, a student coordinator at the Colleges of Arts & Sciences‘ First Year Center, was recognized as the winner for the A4-A7 pay category. Gandeza was awarded a $500 cash scholarship.

Also recognized as finalists were Huyen-Tran (Lauren) Thai of the Department of Second Language Studies and Tim Unten of the medical school‘s Department of Psychiatry. Both finalists received a $250 cash scholarship.

The student employees of the Credit Programs at the Outreach College were named the 2004 Student Employee Team of the Year. The winning team members include Corey Kaneko, Erin Perreira, Jun-Romeo Farinas, and Julia Okamura.

There are currently over 4,000 student employees at UH Mānoa. Eighteen of these students were nominated for individual honors and 16 for the team award. Student employee positions range from custodial to research, with many departments relying heavily on these students to provide services to other students.

The Student Employee of the Year program, locally administered by the university‘s Student Employment & Cooperative Education Office, is part of a national effort to honor student employees and acknowledge their importance to their school and community.