Journalism majors receive scholarships and are inducted into honor society

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Ann Auman, (808) 956-3786
Professor and Chair, School of Communications
Posted: May 15, 2015

Journalism students and Professors Auman and Oppegaard.
Journalism students and Professors Auman and Oppegaard.

Journalism majors in the School of Communications, College of Social Sciences, have been honored with about $10,000 in scholarships and awards, and were also inducted into the Kappa Tau Alpha Honor Society.

Pictured in group photo, from left, are Bianca Smallwood (Moulton Memorial Scholarship); Professor and Chair Ann Auman; Noelle Fujii (Carol Burnett Award for Responsible Journalism and Couey Memorial Scholarship); Alex Bitter (Eugene Tao Scholarship and Ed Sheehan Scholarship, and Kappa Tau Alpha Honor Society); Amanda Shell (Louise Hess Miller Award for Excellence in Journalism and Kappa Tau Alpha Honor Society): Jessica Homrich (Kappa Tau Alpha Honor Society); Eliaquim Reyes (Pierre Bowman Memorial Scholarship); Danielle Gorman (Kappa Tau Alpha Honor Society); Professor Brett Oppegaard and Lacy Deniz (Louise Hess Miller Award for Excellence in Journalism).

Other awardees, not pictured, are Ana Giliberti-Ippel and Jessica Henao (James H. Couey Jr. Memorial Scholarship); Marina Riker (Louise Hess Miller Award for Excellence in Journalism); Meakalia Previch-Liu and Ieva Bytautaite (Moulton Memorial Scholarship); Ethan Ogata (Ed Sheehan Scholarship); and Jennifer Wong (scholarship in honor of Sharon Ishida, former journalism department secretary).

These awards were established to honor former journalists and others who are devoted to the important role of responsible journalism in contributing to an informed citizenry.

About the Carol Burnett Fund for Responsible Journalism: The fund was established in 1981 by actress Carol Burnett to honor outstanding students who have demonstrated a strong sense of journalistic responsibility and integrity. This year's winner was Noelle Fujii, Ka Leo news editor.

About Kappa Tau Alpha:  The honor society recognizes excellence in journalism and inducts students who are in the top 10 percent of their graduating class.

For more information, visit: