2014 Leaders of Promise Scholarship Awarded to Leeward Student

Awarded to new Phi Theta Kappa Member

Leeward Community College
Kathleen R Cabral, (808) 455-0524
Dir of Mktg, Chancellor's Office
Posted: Jan 8, 2015

Nicole Sharp, a student at Leeward Community College, has been selected as a 2014 Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholar.   This scholarship is designed to provide new Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) members with financial resources to help defray educational expenses while enrolled in a two-year college while also encouraging participation in Society programs.  Chosen from more than 900 applications worldwide, the scholars receive scholarships of $1,000 each to further their associate degree studies. Independent judges evaluate the applications based on scholastic achievement, community service and leadership potential

Supported by the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, the Leaders of Promise Program enables Phi Theta Kappa to award $200,000 to members annually, including members of the military and veterans.

Leeward Chancellor Manny Cabral adds, "Leeward's Alpha Lambda Gamma chapter of PTK has energized our top achieving students. The chapter is growing rapidly and providing wonderful leadership opportunities for our students. The Leaders of Promise Program is incredibly helpful to new members."

"These funds not only aid college completion, but provide students with the opportunity to engage in Society programs and develop leadership skills to become future leaders in Phi Theta Kappa. So the funds are not only an investment in our students, they are an investment in the future of our organization and the colleges and communities we serve,” said Dr. Rod Risley, Executive Director and CEO of Phi Theta Kappa. “Congratulations to our 2014 recipients. Without a doubt the Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise program will make a tremendous impact on the lives of these hard-working, high-achieving students -- making it possible for them to complete their associate degrees."

The Leaders of Promise Scholarship Program was conceived by International Officers and launched in 2001.  

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Miss., is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,285 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, plus Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. Nearly 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 132,000 students inducted annually.