UH Regents & Presidential Scholars to be recognized

University of Hawaiʻi
Jodi Leong, (808) 956-9437
Dir of Communications, External Affairs and University Relations
Posted: Jul 18, 2013

The University of Hawai’i System will recognize its 2013 Regents and Presidential Scholars at its annual awards dinner on Thursday, July 18 at 6:30 p.m. at the Pomaika’i Ballrooms at Dole Cannery in Iwilei.

Regents Scholars receive a full tuition waiver for four years of undergraduate study. These scholarships are awarded to outstanding freshmen who receive an SAT combined score of at least 1950 on all three sections of the test, or ACT combined score of at least 29, maintain at least a 3.5 GPA in academic subjects in high school, and whose extracurricular achievements are shown to be remarkable.

Presidential Scholars receive a full tuition waiver for two years of undergraduate study. These scholarships are awarded to 10 college juniors who have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.7 for all college level work, maintain a record of progress in academic courses, and who demonstrate superior academic achievement or creativity.

The UH Board of Regents established the Regents and Presidential Scholarships to support Hawai’i students with a record of outstanding academic achievement.  Its intent is to keep the best and brightest of Hawai’i’s students here in the islands and see them enrolled at the University of Hawai’i where they have an opportunity to receive a quality education to support their academic and personal growth.

More than 300 students applied for the 2013 Regents and Presidential Scholarships.

The 2013 Regents Scholars and high school attended:

         Haley Briggles, Hanalani

         Calvin Chang, Maryknoll

         Mayumi Fernandez, Kaiser

         Kira Fox, Kaiser

         Jhenna Kae Garvida, Farrington

         Ramil Lorenzo Gonzalez, Mililani

         Lisa Grandinetti, Mililani

         Diana Holden, Hawai’i Baptist Academy

         Richard Huang, University Lab

         Lexie Kajihara, Kalani

         Allie Kim, ‘Iolani

         Emily Ko, Sacred Hearts Academy

         Silvia Koo, Kalani

         Laurence Lea Lacar, Aiea

         Michelle Masutani, Leilehua

         Nicole Oka, Kamehameha Kapalama

         Jenna Pak, Kalani

         Andrew Pham, Kalani

         Briant Pham, Kaimuki

         Mia Porter, Kaiser

         Kadee-Kalia Tamashiro, Kamehameha Maui


The 2013 Presidential Scholars and campus last attended:

         Erika Beatrice Bareng, UH-West O’ahu

         Aleca Borsuk, UH Manoa

         Bryce Iwami, UH Manoa

         Nazeehah Khan, UH Manoa

         Krista Ann Lee, UH Manoa

         Eddy Leung, UH Manoa

         Alyssa Loving, UH Hilo

         Ryan Mandado, UH Manoa

         Cody Nakamori, UH Manoa

         Heather Schulz, UH Manoa