Honolulu CC's Phi Theta Kappa Chapter receives Pacific Regional awards

New Century scholar named for the State of Hawai'i

Honolulu Community College
Billie K T Lueder, (808) 845-9187
Communications & External Affairs, Chancellor's Office
Posted: Apr 18, 2013

Accepting the Pacific Region Distinguished Chapter Award for Alpha Kappa Iota.
Accepting the Pacific Region Distinguished Chapter Award for Alpha Kappa Iota.
New Century Scholar recipient Chantal Keliihoomalu.
New Century Scholar recipient Chantal Keliihoomalu.

Honolulu Community College’s Phi Theta Kappa Chapter, also known as Alpha Kappa Iota, was bestowed four awards at the annual Pacific Regional Convention of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society held in early March.

The regional awards presented to the chapter included:

  • Five Star Chapter Award, which recognizes the highest level of chapter development
  • Distinguished Chapter
  • Distinguished College Project
  • Honors in Action Theme Award for Theme 8: “Making the Grade: Competition & Education” — recognizing the chapter’s project, “Community Impact – Adopt a School” led by students Clayton Ababa, Ginelli Abalos, Mara Aste, Sakaria Auelua-Toomey, Janell Celestino and Jamie Rodrigues.

These regional awards recognize Phi Theta Kappa students for their hard work and scholarly research efforts in developing and implementing scholarship, service and leadership projects that embody the current honors study topic, “The Culture of Competition.”

The college’s convention delegates included students Clayton Ababa, Mara Aste, Sakaria Auelua-Toomey, and Jamie Rodrigues, and advisors Rob Edmondson, Lena Low and Jeannie Shaw.

New Century Scholar Award

Honolulu’s Phi Theta Kappa member Chantal Keliʻihoomalu was most recently named the 2013 New Century Scholar recipient for the State of Hawaiʻi.  Fifty community college students from the United States, Canada, and the Federated States of Micronesia received scholarship totaling $100,000.

More than 1,800 students were nominated from more than 800 community colleges for recognition. Judges consider grades, leadership, activities and most importantly, how students extend their intellectual talents beyond the classroom. The New Century Scholars Program is sponsored by The Coca-Cola Foundation, Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, Phi Theta Kappa and the American Association of Community Colleges.

About Phi Theta Kappa

Phi Theta Kappa is recognized as the official honor society for community colleges by the American Association of Community Colleges. The society recognizes and encourages the academic achievement of two-year college students and provides opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service and fellowship programming.

The Pacific Region of Phi Theta Kappa includes chapters located in Hawaiʻi, American Samoa, Guam, Palau, Micronesia and the Marshall Islands.