Final Candidates Announced in Search for School of Travel Industry Management Dean

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Posted: Feb 24, 2003

The search committee for the position of dean of the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa‘s School of Travel Industry Management (TIM) has announced the final candidates for the position.

The final candidates for the TIM dean position are:

James F. Burke, PhD -- James F. Burke is currently dean of The Collins School of Hospitality Management and professor of hospitality and tourism management at California State Polytechnic University in Pomona. He has held this position since 1998. Burke received his bachelor‘s degree from Dartmouth College, master‘s degrees from Temple University and Utah State University, and a doctorate in recreation, park and leisure studies from the University of Minnesota. He has previously served as director of the Accelerated Masters of Tourism Administration Program and the Tourism Destination Management and Marketing Program at George Washington University, and director of the School of Hospitality and Tourism Management and Centre for Tourism Studies at Ryerson Polytechnic University in Toronto, Canada. Burke has been a member of the Travel and Tourism Research Association since 1981, serving in various capacities including president in 1995 and chairman of the Board of Directors in 1996. He has also been a trustee of the National Tourism Foundation Board since 1993, serving as chairman in 2002, and is a member of the National Tour Association and the American Hotel and Lodging Association.

Walter Jamieson, PhD, ACP, MCIP -- Walter Jamieson is vice chair of the World Tourism Education and Research Centre at the University of Calgary in Alberta, Canada. He is also a professor of planning, and the director of the Historical Resources Intern Program in the Faculty of Environmental Design at the university, and has served in administrative capacities including associate dean and director of The Centre for Environmental Design Research and Outreach. Jamieson was the director for a Canadian International Development Agency project based at the Asian Institute of Technology in Bangkok, Thailand, from 1998-2002. He continues to work with a significant number of national and international public and private sector tourism stakeholders in Asia. Jamieson received his doctorate in urban and regional studies from the University of Birmingham in England, and master‘s degrees from Edinburgh College of Art/Heriot-Watt University in Edinburgh, Scotland, and York University in Toronto, Canada. He is currently a visiting professor at the Institute for Tourism Studies in Macau, and is a Heritage Resource Management and Tourism Consultant for UNESCO in the Asia Pacific.

Stephen L.J. Smith, PhD -- Stephen Smith is a professor in the Department of Recreation and Leisure Studies at the University of Waterloo in Ontario, Canada. He previously served as chairman of the department from 1984-1990 and again as acting chair from 1999-2000. Smith, who has been with the University of Waterloo since 1976, has also been assistant professor in the Department of Park and Recreation Resources at Michigan State University. Smith received a bachelor‘s degree from Wright State University and a master‘s degree from Ohio State University, both in geography. He received his doctorate in recreation and resources development from Texas A&M University. Smith is active in a variety of industry organizations and academic bodies including TTRA-International and the International Academy for the Study of Tourism, and currently serves as chair for the Southern Ontario Tourism Organization, the International Travel Survey Working Group, and the International Statistical Institute‘s "Marco Polo" Committee on Statistics in Travel and Tourism. He has also held visitor professorships in China, Helsinki, and The Netherlands.

"UH Mānoa‘s School of Travel Industry Management has a reputation worldwide for excellence and quality, which is seen in its academic programs, faculty, and students, and these factors combined enable the school to produce graduates who are extremely well prepared for careers in today‘s travel and hospitality industry," said Search Committee Chair and UH Law School Dean Lawrence Foster. "I commend the members of the search committee for identifying the candidates who have the capability to provide the leadership needed to uphold as well as enhance this reputation of excellence."

In addition to Chair Foster, the members of the search committee included Rick Egged (Executive Director, Waikīkī Improvement Association), Ren Hirose (Starwood Hotels and Resorts, President, TIM Alumni Association and Member, TIM Advisory Board), Laurence W. Jacobs (Professor, UH Mānoa College of Business Administration), Misty M. Johanson (Assistant Professor, TIM School), Juanita C. Liu (Professor and Graduate Chair, TIM School), Pauline Sheldon (Interim Dean and Professor, TIM School), Dirk Soma (Assistant Dean for Business, Hospitality, and Culinary Arts, Kapiʻolani Community College), Hans Strasser (President, Hotelmark Corporation and Chair, TIM Advisory Board), Carlos P. Sullivan (TIM School student, Hotel Management and Tourism), Barbara Tanabe (Principal Owner, Hoʻakea and Member, TIM Advisory Board), Byung-Wook Wie (Professor, TIM School), Harold N. Yokouchi (UH Mānoa Admissions Officer), and Bob Zoller (Former President and Chief Operating Officer, Hawaiian Airlines).

For more information about the TIM dean search and the candidates, visit

For more information, visit: