UH will honor faculty and staff at Convocation awards on September 15

President M.R.C. Greenwood to deliver first address to university community

University of Hawaiʻi
Carolyn Tanaka, (808) 956-8109
Associate Vice President, External Affairs and University Relations
Posted: Sep 11, 2009

HONOLULU – The University of Hawai‘i 2009 Convocation Awards Ceremony on September 15 will be a special celebration this year as it honors more than 40 faculty and staff from the university’s 10 campuses across the state with various teaching, research and service awards, as well as welcomes the university’s new president, M.R.C. Greenwood.
President Greenwood will be delivering her first address to the university community at the commencement of the new academic year.  The Board of Regents, campus chancellors and administrators, friends and family of the award recipients will also join her in celebrating the accomplishments of these faculty and staff members.
The ceremony begins at 10 a.m. and will be held at Kennedy Theatre on the UH Mānoa campus.  The ceremony is free and open to the public.  It will also be broadcast live online and on the UH Mānoa Campus Cable Channel 67, via streaming video and at the following campus HITS locations:
  • Kaua‘i CC - LRC 121
  • Leeward CC - Library Room 116
  • Maui CC – Kaʻaike Room 105CD
  • Moloka‘i Education Center - Room 103
  • Lāna‘i Education Center – Room 106
  • UH Center at West Hawaiʻi – Building 4 Room 3
  • UH Hilo – Moʻokini Library room 344

Presented annually to recognize faculty and staff from all the campuses throughout the UH system for their excellence in teaching, research and service, the awards include:

  • Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching
  • Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Research
  • Willard Wilson Award for Distinguished Service to the University
  • President’s Award for Excellence in Buildings and Grounds Maintenance
  • Frances Davis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
  • Masaki and Momoe Kunimoto Memorial Award for Outstanding Contributions to Career and Technical Education
  • Robert W. Clopton Award for Outstanding Service to the Community
  • UH Mānoa Chancellor’s Citation for Meritorious Teaching
  • UH Mānoa Chancellor’s Awards for Outstanding Service
  • UH Mānoa Distinguished Graduate Mentoring Award
  • UH Hilo Chancellor’s Awards
  • UH West O‘ahu Chancellor’s Award
  • Hawaiʻi Community College Chancellor’s Award
  • Kauaʻi Community College Chancellor’s Award
  • Leeward Community College Chancellor’s Award
  • Maui Community College Chancellor’s Award
  • Windward Community College Chancellor’s Award
For more information about the university’s Convocation awards ceremony and awardees, visit http://www.hawaii.edu/about/awards.