UH Manoa School of Law hosts Climate Change Teach-In tomorrow

Public invited to learn about climate change and solutions for Hawaiʻi

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Posted: Jan 29, 2008

HONOLULU ญญญ— The William S. Richardson School of Law at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa will hold a special Climate Change Teach-In for the public to hear from top faculty, students and community leaders on climate change science and solutions for Hawaiʻi. This interactive, fast-paced, open forum is held in conjunction with a major international climate change summit — the U.S.-initiated "Major Economies Meeting" — at the East West Center on Jan. 30-31, 2008. The Teach-In will take place tomorrow, January 30, 2008, at the Law School's Moot Courtroom from 7 p.m. - 9 p.m. R.S.VP requested.

Guest speakers who will provide seven-minute presentations include:

  • Denise Konan, Professor, Department of Economics, UH Mānoa;
  • Lorenz Magaard, Chair, Climate Change Commission, UH Mānoa;
  • Chip Fletcher, Professor, Department of Geology & Geophysics, UH Mānoa;
  • Jerry Surles, Hawaii Natural Energy Institute, UH Mānoa;
  • Josh Stanbro, Evolution Sage;
  • Sen. Ron Menor, Chair, State Senate Energy & Environment Committee;
  • Mike Hamnett, Executive Director, RCUH;
  • Jack Kittinger, Graduate Student, Geography, UH Mānoa ;
  • Charles P.M.K. Burrows, Ahahui Malama I ka Lokahi;
  • David Turner, Interfaith Power & Light Henry Curtis, Life of the Land;
  • Makena Coffman, Department of Urban & Regional Planning, UH Mānoa;
  • Shanah Trevenna, Graduate Student, Sustainable Saunders, UH Mānoa; and
  • Jeff Mikulina, Sierra Club Hawaii Chapter, Executive Director.

    Moderating the forum will be Denise Antolini, Professor of the Environmental Law Program at UH Mānoa.

    Sponsors of the event are the Mānoa Climate Change Commission; International Center for Climate and Society; Department of Urban and Regional Planning ; UH Student Climate Change Committee; Environmental Law Program, School of Law; Environmental Law Society, Law School; UH Mānoa Sustainability Council; Sustainable Saunders; UH Environmental Center; School of Architecture; Sierra Club Hawaii Chapter; Environmental Defense ; Life of the Land; Ahahui Malama I ka Lohaki; United Church of Christ Environmental & Energy Task Force; Hawaii Interfaith Power & Light ; Windward Ahupuaa Alliance; Conservation Council for Hawaii; Evolution Sage; Focus the Nation; and Carbon Neutral.

    For more information and to R.S.V.P. contact Denise Antolini at 956-6238 or antolini@hawaii.edu; Jack Kittinger at jkittinger@gmail.com; or Jeff Mikulina at 548-6616 or mikulina@lava.net.