Matsuda, Dods to co-chair search advisory committee for Dan and Maggie Inouye chair in democratic ideals

University of Hawaiʻi
Carolyn Tanaka, (808) 956-9803
External Affairs & University Relations
Jim Manke, (808) 956-6099
Chancellor's Office
Posted: Nov 22, 2005

UH President Emeritus Fujio Matsuda and First Hawaiian Bank Chairman Walter Dods will co-chair the search advisory committee for the first occupant for the Dan and Maggie Inouye Chair in Democratic Ideals.

UH Interim President David McClain and UH Mānoa Interim Chancellor Denise Konan made the announcement at the November meeting of the University of Hawaiʻi Board of Regents. At the meeting, Regents formally established the Inouye chair position. Earlier this year, Dods led a fundraising effort to endow the chair with McClain and Jeff Watanabe, managing partner of Watanabe, Ing and Komeiji, that has thus far raised $2.3 million.

Other members of the committee named at the Regents‘ meeting are:

· Donna Tanoue, Vice Chairman, Bank of Hawaii
· Aviam Soifer, Dean of the William S. Richardson School of Law
· Thomas Bingham, Chair of the Department of Music
· Denise Antolini, Associate Professor at the Richardson School
· Eric Yamamoto, Professor at the Richardson School
· Dennis Ogawa, Chair of the American Studies Department
· David Stannard, Professor of American Studies

The chair will be jointly held in the Department of American Studies, College of Arts & Humanities, and the William S. Richardson School of Law; both units are part of the University of Hawaiʻi at Manoa. Chair holders will rotate and be selected from distinguished public figures, who will offer courses and seminars for the benefit of students, faculty, alumni and the community.

The search advisory committee will hold its first meeting in December, and hopes to have a recommendation to Interim Chancellor Konan for her review and forwarding for Interim President McClain‘s approval early in the new year.