UH honors 2005 Regents and Presidential Scholars

Twenty incoming freshmen and 10 college juniors will receive the prestigious scholarships

University of Hawaiʻi
Anna Ah Sam, (808) 956-9217
Student Equity
Kristen Bonilla, (808) 956-5039
External Affairs & University Relations
Posted: Jul 13, 2005

HONOLULU — The University of Hawaiʻi will honor and recognize 30 students awarded with the prestigious Regents and Presidential Scholarships at an annual awards dinner in their honor on Monday, July 18, at the UH Mānoa Campus Center Ballroom. The UH Board of Regents established the Regents and Presidential Scholarships to support students with a record of outstanding academic achievement.

Regents Scholarships are awarded to 20 outstanding incoming freshmen who receive at least a 1,300 combined mathematics and verbal score on the Scholastic Assessment Test (SAT), maintain at least a 3.5 GPA in academic subjects in high school, and whose extracurricular achievements are shown to be remarkable.

Presidential Scholarships are awarded to 10 college juniors who have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.7 for all college level work, a record of sustained progress in academic courses, and evidence of superior academic achievement or creative endeavor.

Regents Scholars receive a full tuition waiver for four years of undergraduate study, and Presidential Scholars receive a full tuition waiver for two years of undergraduate study. All scholars receive $4,000 a year and a one-time travel grant of $2,000. The program is administered by the Student Equity, Excellence and Diversity Office at UH Mānoa.


· Neal Akatsuka, Roosevelt High School, education/Japanese
· Wesley Ching, Kalani High School, biology
· Sara Fares, Kalani High School, pre-medicine
· Katherine Ishida, Kaimuki High School, liberal arts
· Reece Iwami, Castle High School, electrical engineering
· Bobby Kwan, McKinley High School, pre-medicine/bioengineering
· Grace Kwan, Aiea High School, political science
· Lee Ying Kwok, Mililani High School, English
· Kaitlin Luther, Baldwin High School, cinematic and digital narrative production
· Kacie Miura, Waiakea High School, political science
· Kelly Morikone, Kalani High School, Japanese
· Jason Nagaoka, Moanalua High School, political science/mathematics
· Stacie Nakamura, Pearl City High School, accounting
· Janice Quach, Castle High School, biology
· Kayla Sakimoto, La Pietra Hawaiʻi School for Girls, biology/business
· Krystle Salazar, Moanalua High School, bioengineering
· Jillian Sumitomo, Kalani High School, civil engineering/pre-medicine
· Aileen Tanaka, Mililani High School, biology
· Megan Terawaki, Mililani High School, management information systems
· Dayton Wong, Molokai High School, biology


· Johnathan Cheng, chemistry, UH Mānoa
· Amy Ching, electrical engineering, Leeward Community College transfer to UH Mānoa
· Krista Jo Dusek*, social work, Maui Community College transfer to UH Mānoa - (*2005 Albert J. Simone Presidential Scholar, a distinction bestowed upon the highest ranked Presidential Scholar)
· Marla Garcia, biology, UH Hilo
· Heather Kaluna, astronomy, UH Hilo
· Melanie Li, civil engineering, UH Mānoa
· Branden Lohrey, natural science, UH Hilo
· Maryann Peterson, dance theatre, UH Mānoa; Associate of Arts, Maui Community College
· Faye Plescia, psychology, UH Hilo
· Cora Puliatch, natural resources and environmental management, Maui Community College transfer to UH Mānoa